first_imgStoke City Women’s coach Alena Moulton says constant education about black history must continue beyond the annual month of celebration held in the United Kingdom during October.UK Black History Month drew to a close last weekend, but Moulton, who is of Jamaican descent, would like to see a more regular focus on black culture and the black experience.- Advertisement – Ebony Rainford-Brent and Imani Lansiquot Head coach Lloyd Pierce of the Atlanta Hawks reacts after a play against the Washington Wizards during the first half at Capital One Arena on January 2, 2019 in Washington,– Advertisement – – Advertisement – “I experienced it when I was younger and I was just somebody who brushed things to one side and didn’t really care, but did it affect me?“Not at the time, I’d probably say no but now I probably look back and think those things are part of my journey.“It’s difficult to pinpoint the one particular thing that’s an issue [with subtle racism]. If someone makes a racial comment to you, you know exactly what it is, there is no grey area about it, but with subtle racism, not everybody understands the context behind it. I have probably experienced more of that’s a coach than as a player.”Black History Month 2020 revisitedLook back at a sample of our features, news stories and video content from our Sky Sports News and our Sky Sports platforms. Check out some of our 2020 Black History Month content here Sport inspires unity, says Ebony Rainford-Brent who opens up to Imani Lansiquot on fighting for diversity and equality “Black History is me. That’s my life. Every day I’m black,” Moulton told the Women’s Football Show.“We’ve just got to keep having those conversations. I’m having those conversations and I’m educating as well, I work in a school, and fortunately I work in an extremely diverse multicultural school.“And it’s brilliant to be able to educate as many different students as possible and have those conversations with them.”center_img 2:09 Derby-born Moulton stepped up from her role as first-team coach to take charge at Stoke having previously coached Nottingham Forest Ladies.She has been coaching since she was a teenager but there have been uncomfortable moments during her career on the touchline. Subtle racism is something the 29-year-old says she has had to deal with, particularly as a coach.“I’ve experienced racism, I’ve experienced subtle racism and the micro-aggressions that come with it. Education about the history of the black experience must be more truthful and not restricted to just one month in a year, Atlanta Hawks head coach Lloyd Pierce tells Sky Sports News 1:05 – Advertisement –last_img read more

first_imgJAMESTOWN, N.D. – IMCA Modified and IMCA Sunoco Stock Car drivers from 12 states and Can­ada have already pre-registered for the 30th annual Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Tour. Williston Basin Speedway is the next stop on Tuesday, July 9. The series then heads to South­west Speedway in Dickinson on Wednesday, July 10. Dacotah Speedway in Mandan hosts Champion­ship Night on Thursday, July 11, and the Corral Sales Legendary 50 on Friday, July 12. Questions about the Dakota Classic Tour can be directed to Director John Gartner at 701 202-6075. Pre-entered Modified drivers include:  The Legendary 50 pays a record $10,004 to win the IMCA Modified feature, another 2019 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier. Cole Anderson, Northfield, Minn.; Casey Arneson, Fargo; Randy Artz, Battle Mountain, Nev.; Reese Artz, Battle Mountain, Nev.; Hank Berry, Sidney, Mont.; Tom Berry, Newburg; Justin Bieber, Fairview, Mont.; Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.; Kevin Bliese, Bath, S.D.; Cody Blixt, Clancy, Mont.; Chris Bragg, Springtown, Texas; Brian Brennan. Rozet, Wy.; Jarrett Carter, Lisbon; Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, Iowa; John Corell, Jamestown; Jason Dinius, Dickinson; Zach Dockter, Norwich; Tracy Domagala, Bismarck; John Flory, Williston; Isaiah Geisel, Torquay, Sask.; Dylan Goplen, Fargo; Randy Gordon, Jamestown; Don Gumke, Jamestown; Travis Hagen, McGregor; Tyler Hall, Fertile, Minn.; Keith Hammett, Brookland, Ark.; Mike Hansen, Dickinson; Brad Hartigan, Dickinson; Robert Hellebust, Minot; Jason Hicks, Dickinson; Vernon Hill, Black Eagle, Mont.; Vernon Hill Jr., Black Eagle, Mont.; Jordan Huettl, Minot; Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.; Kyler Jeffrey, Williston; Paul Jones Jr., Casper, Wy.; Billy Kendall, Baxter, Minn.; Allen Kent, West Fargo; Rusty Kollman, Carrington; Jeremiah LaDue, Trenton; Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; Dale Neitzel, Billings, Mont.; Shawn Nostdahl, Bottineau; John Parmeley, Phoenix, Ariz.; Cody Peterson, Glyndon, Minn.; Kale Peterson, Estevan, Sask.; Steven Pfeifer, Minot; Jon Plowman, Woodbine, Iowa; Alan Riley, Florence, Mont.; Josh Rogotzke, Sanborn, Minn.; Joel Rust, Grundy Center, Iowa; Darren Schatz, Williston; Brent Schlafmann, Bismarck; Chris Schroeder, Williston; Jake Schroeder, Williston; Chris Seekings, Minot; Marlyn Seidler, Underwood; Jesse Skalicky, Fargo;Shawn Strand, Mandan.Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel, Iowa; Marcus Tomlinson, Turtle Lake; Myles Tomlinson, Turtle Lake; Travis Ulmer, Mandan; Tim Ward, Harcourt, Iowa; Jason Wolla, Ray;Austin Wolf, Algona, Iowa. More than $120,000 in payout is offered for the tour and another $30,000 is posted for the Legend­ary. In addition, $3,000 will go to the top 10 in IMCA series points in both divisions and $20,000 in contingency prizes will be awarded to the top 25 in tour points. Justin Bachmeier, Williston; Austin Daae, Estevan, Sask.; Chase Davidson, Macoun, Sask.; Chris Ellis, Williston; Dalton Flory, Williston; Scott Gartner, Jamestown; Mike Hagen, Williston; Chris Hortness, Estevan, Sask.; Jace Iverson, Tioga; Keith Mattox, Ray; Jake Nelson, Williston; John Parmeley, Phoenix, Ariz.; Randy Schultz, Swift Current, Sask.; Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel, Iowa; A.J. Zimmerman, Cleveland, Minn. Former Modified tour champions among the early entries are Marlyn Seidler (1994), Hank Berry (2003, 2004, 2008 and 2012), Troy Cordes (2006), Jeff Taylor (2014), Ricky Thornton Jr. (2015) and Hunter Marriott (2016-2018).  If fans can’t make it to the track(s), the entire tour will be broadcast world-wide by IMCA-TV.  All Modified features pay $2,400 to win and are qualifying events for the 2019 Fast Shafts All-Star Invi­tational ballot, while all Stock Car features pay $800 to win. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Side Biter Chassis North Central Region and EQ Cylinder Heads Northern Region, and E3 Spark Plugs State points, but no track points will be awarded each night of the tour. National, regional and state points are at stake for the Legendary. The tour starts its six consecutive day run Saturday, July 6 at Jamestown Speedway. The Tour then goes to Nodak Speedway at Minot on Sunday, July 7. On Monday, July 8, the series travels across the international border to Estevan, Sask., Motor Speedway.  Pre-entered Stock Car drivers are:last_img read more